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New Mexico Medical Board Informational Document: 

 The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) 

   

Note: New Mexico does not currently participate in the IMLC. This means physicians applying 

for NM licensure must submit a complete application to the New Mexico Medical Board, 

including a background check. Upon receipt of a complete application (without a history of 

licensure issues or other actions), a license to practice medicine is granted within approximately 

3 days. 

The NMMB endorses joining the IMLC.  

The IMLC is a little like TSA pre-check. It is an agreement among participating US states 

where an eligible physician who has a full unrestricted license in a Compact member state, 

can then quickly obtain licensure in another Compact member state by completing just one 

application within the Compact.  

Like TSA pre-check, the physician is “pre-cleared,” but to be “cleared” they must go through a 

rigorous screening process (and qualify). Additionally, there is a cost: $700 to go through the  

Compact application process, the cost of each state license where the physician wants to practice 

(generally ranges from $400-$800 and is state-dependent), and $100 per additional state licenses 

applied for at a later date.  

The licenses are still issued by the individual states, and the state retains autonomy over the 

licensee. This means that if a licensee has an action in a state where they received a license under 

the IMLC, that state is free to take action against the licensee based on their statutes, not another 

states’.  This is not a nationally recognized medical license. It is not a portable license such as 

has been used for other healthcare practitioners. 

Any physician from a Compact state who meets the qualifications of the Compact is eligible for 

licensure in any other Compact state and is responsible for obeying all statutory laws and 

administrative rules of the state. 
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After a physician has been approved for licensure with a Letter of Qualification (LOQ) from the 

state of primary licensure and select states in which he or she wishes to be licensed, those 

licensing states (all of which must be participants in the compact) receive notification. When a 

Compact licensing state receives a Letter of Qualification for a physician seeking licensure, the 

state is expected to process the Letter of Qualification issue the license promptly. It must also 

report the licensure to the Interstate Medical Licensure Commission. Licensing state must notify 

the licensing 90 days in advance when a license issued via compact is due to expire. Licensing 

states are also expected to work with the Commission to facilitate timely renewal of licenses 

granted by other Compact states.  

Not every physician can participate!  

In order to qualify for Compact participation, physicians must: 

Hold a full, unrestricted medical license in a Compact member state that can serve as a 

State of Principal License (SPL). This state issues the Letter of Qualification. 

At least one of the following also must apply: 

• The physician’s primary residence is in the State of Principle License.  

• At least 25% of the physician’s practice of medicine occurs in the SPL. 

• The physician is employed to practice medicine by a person, business or organization 

located in the SPL. 

• The physician uses the SPL as his or her state of residence for U.S. Federal Income Tax 

purposes. 

• The physician must have graduated from an accredited medical school, or a school listed 

in the International Medical Education Directory 

• The physician must have successfully completed ACGME- or AOA-accredited graduate 

medical education. 

• The physician must have passed each component of the USMLE, COMLEX-USA, or 

equivalent predecessor exam accepted by the state medical board in no more than three 

attempts for each component - Please note:  Passing the Canadian Licentiate of the 

Medical Council of Canada, or the LMCC, DOES NOT meet this requirement 
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• Hold a current specialty certification or time-unlimited certification by an ABMS or 

AOABOS board. 

In addition, physicians must: 

• Not have any history of disciplinary actions toward their medical license 

• Not have any criminal history 

• Not have any history of controlled substance actions toward their medical license 

• Not currently be under investigation. 
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