NEW MEXICO MEDICAL BOARD

Special Call Meeting 2055 S. Pacheco, # 400, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 February 24, 2005

MINUTES

Members Present:

John S. Romine, M.D., Chairman, Physician Member (by teleconference) Steve Weiner, M.D., Physician Member (by teleconference) Prakash Ranka, M.D., Physician Member (by teleconference) Vivian Giudice, M.D., Physician Member (by teleconference) Maureen Boshier, Public Member (by teleconference) Reza Ghadimi, P.A., Public Member (by teleconference)

Members Absent:

Paul J. Kovnat, M.D., Co Chair, Physician Member, recused Richard Heim, Public Member, recused C. Grant La Farge, M.D., Secretary-Treasurer, excused

Also Present:

Charlotte Kinney, Executive Director Corliss Thalley, AGA Jenny Felmley, PIO Lynn Tipton, Adm Asst

The Special Meeting of the New Mexico Medical Board convened at 4:40 p.m., Thursday, February 24, 2005, in the Board Conference room, 2055 S. Pacheco, #400, Santa Fe, New Mexico, *John Romine, M.D.* presiding. Charlotte Kinney called the roll and a quorum was declared with members Romine, Guidice, Weiner, Boshier, Ghadimi and Ranka present, by teleconference.

1. APPROVAL OF AGENDA.

Dr. Romine MOVED the agenda be approved as presented. Dr. Ranka SECONDED the motion, which PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

2. LICENSURE MATTERS - CASE #2003-020 Ravi Bhasker, M.D.

EXECUTIVE SESSION: MOTION was made by Dr. Romine and seconded by Dr. Ranka to go into executive session to discuss matters of licensure. YES: Guidice, Weiner, Boshier, Ghadimi, Romine, and Ranka. MOTION CARRIED. The Board returned to open session. Dr. Romine stated for the record that the matters discussed in closed session were limited to only those specified in the motion for closure.

Mr. Ghadimi MOVED to authorize Corliss Thalley to handle upcoming court proceedings in the Ravi Bhasker, MD, case as discussed in closed session. Dr. Ranka SECONDED the motion. YES: Romine, Weiner, Giudice, Boshier, Ranka and Ghadimi. MOTION CARRIED.

3. ADJOURN. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m.

SUBMITTED: _	Charlotte Kinney, Executive Director	Date:
APPROVED: _	C. Grant La Farge, M.D., Secretary	Date:
APPROVED: _	John Romine, M.D., President	_ Date: